ForumUp English Language Support Forum Index ForumUp English Language Support
Before asking for support:

*Check the FAQ, Guides and Tutorials
*Use a title in posts that describes your question
*Include your forum's URL
*No PM or Email support!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Welcome!

**ALWAYS include the URL to your forum in every post.**
You cannot register with a web.de or mail.ru email address at this time, due to a massive spam registering attack.
* Read the rules for signatures and avatars
* If you did not get your activation email, look here

* Click here for fast help for your questions.
Tagasuarus a threat?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ForumUp English Language Support Forum Index -> Not Urgent Problems, Errors and Bugs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
chebby
Member


Joined: 29 Apr 2007
Posts: 24
Location: where the past and future meet, USA

PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2007 4:20 pm    Post subject: Tagasuarus a threat? Reply with quote

I first brought up the subject of TagASuarus which comes along with the ads now playing on the forums:


Only registered users can see links on this forum!
Register or Login on forum!



and the member of my forum who first raised this question is still having "issues". (Please note that I have removed the ads from my forum to registered members who are logged in)

I visited the VV-com site several times in the past few days to find no more adds or pop-ups and Spybot search and destroy has told me my computer has been clean ever since. That was nice while it lasted.

This evening on the VV-com site I click on the "Forum" tab and you know it. The POp-ups where happening even before the Forum page was loaded. Low and behold there are those pesky adds again. So I emediatly disconect from the net, run a virus scam and yes. There it is again.
"(TagASaurus: Tracking cookie (Internet Explorer)":

A google search describes "TagASaurus" as a trogen virus but my virus scanner does not see it as that.

Like the name says this thing "Tags" itself behind those pop-ups which are taging thenselves onto those adds, I am certain that is how it sneeks past my security programs.

I also searched Google briefly and most of the information about it suggested that it was a potentially bad thing for computer users. Malware. (yet they may have been trying to sell their removal program)

Has anybody looked into this in depth?

_________________
chebby Cool

Only registered users can see links on this forum!
Register or Login on forum!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ForumUp English Language Support Forum Index -> Not Urgent Problems, Errors and Bugs All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


View posts since last visit / View your posts


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

Powered by forumup.com free forum, create your free forum!
Created by Raulken of Hyarbor S.r.l.
TOS & Privacy.

Page generation time: 0.04